JUVENILE CASES - Kansas Statutes allow a juvenile adjudication to be expunged. Recently, the law was also changed to allow Immediate Interventions and uncharged police records to be expunged as well. A record that has been "expunged" means that to most persons or agencies outside the court system, it can be treated as if it never occurred. At least two years must have elapsed from discharge from court jurisdiction for a person to be eligible for expungement of a juvenile adjudication.
ADULT CRIMINAL CASES - A criminal record that has been "expunged" means that to most persons or agencies outside the court system, it can be treated as if it never occurred. Depending on the type of offense, there is a 3, 5, or 10 year wait after a probation, diversion, or sentence is completed.
If interested, you should contact your attorney or our office at 715-3000.
Download, print and complete the appropriate Petition For Expungement form:
Petition for juvenile case click here
Petition for adult case which was dismissed, petitioner was found not guilty, or no-charged click here
Petition for adult case where petitioner was convicted or granted diversion click here
By recent order of the Kansas Supreme Court, the docket fee for an expungement is $195. This fee will apply for each case record for which you are seeking expungement. There is no filing fee for adult cases that were dismissed or that had a not guilty disposition. However, the $195 filing fee applies to each juvenile case, regardless of the disposition. Please make your money order payable to the CLERK OF THE DISTRICT COURT.
For juvenile expungements, deliver your expungement petition and money order to the District Attorney's Office, Juvenile Division (4th floor of the Courthouse), or mail it to: District Attorney's Office, Juvenile Division, PO Box 728, Olathe, KS, 66051.
For adult expungements, deliver your expungement petition and money order to the Clerk of the District Court (2nd floor of the Courthouse), or mail it to: Clerk of the District Court, 100 N. Kansas Ave. Olathe, KS 66061.
Processing, which includes a check for further violations of the law, will take approximately 8 to 12 weeks. If the petition is accepted, an order for expungement will be mailed to you. If the petition is denied, you will be notified; you may then choose to consult an attorney or contact the Court and set the case for a hearing.
You may download the forms to your computer by clicking your right mouse button on the above links and selecting "SAVE TARGET AS", if you are using Internet Explorer, or "SAVE LINK AS", if you are using Netscape.
Some computers have encountered problems when directly downloading forms into Acrobat Reader (as a plug-in) through Netscape or Internet Explorer. In many cases the forms will not download entirely and an error message will appear. If you have this or a similar problem, you should download the forms to your computer as described above.
Johnson County does not provide support for problems downloading/printing using Adobe Acrobat Reader. We recommend you print a test page to ensure your printer works correctly with the Adobe software.